Father’s Day in Thailand: Sun Pyote for Breakfast


It’s been a long time since I wrote here last, over one year!

I’ve been cooking a lot in our new home in Chiang Mai.  We moved to our 4th place in August and you can read more about it here I included pictures. We love our new place, away from the city, but I like being able to see the fields and the mountains around us.

In our new place, I love that we have a spacious kitchen and I have been cooking almost everyday!

Today is the King’s birthday in Thailand so naturally, we made a special breakfast for Jack. Emma was my little helper. See?

M helpng 2

M helpng

What did we make?  We made Sun Pyote, that’s rice soup in Burmese.  Last night I made some lemongrass tea with kaffir lime peels and ginger.  I added the boiled lemongrass water which adds geat aroma and taste to the soup.

lemongrass teaHere’s how I made mine. I’m sure there are many versions out there,  but this is my version.  And again, I don’t cook with particular measurements. I just cook with a dash of that and a sprinkle of this. Sorry. I”ll do my best to give some kind of measurements.

Left over rice which I think was about a cup, and enough water to cover the rice over medium heat. I placed rice and water to be boiled in a pot until the rice became a bit mushy!   You may need to keep adding water if it gets too thick (maybe 1/2 cup). You can add any veggies you’d like really but I had a whole lot of carrots so I added cubed carrots about 10 minutes after I started boiling the rice.  Carrots are sweet and add great color to Sun Pyote. I boiled some more for approximately 10 more minutes or until the carrots are ready, and making sure the soup doesn’t stick to the bottom and have enough water in it. Instead of adding water when it was getting a bit dryer, I added the lemongrass water so to add more flavor and aroma to the dish. I added maybe about 1/3 cup.  Sorry I really don’t measure when I am cooking.

I also added 3 large cloves of diced garlic and diced 1/2 small onion a few minutes before I turn off the fire on the stove.

Add salt to taste.  If preferred, add soy sauce.

rice soupToppings.

  • Sprinkled black sesame seeds
  • Chopped green onions
  • Fresh thinly sliced ginger
  • Thinly sliced carrots
  • Pickled leeks or anything pickled like kim chee is good to give it some crunchy and sour taste
  • Pickled ginger
  • Dash of sesame oil
  • Fried garlic and or fried onions
  • Shredded fish (i brought back from Burma)
  • Boiled egg  if preferred

breakfastM n DaddyBreakfast included Sun Pyoute (rice soup), lemongrass hot tea, mini oranges also known as cuties, and carrot beet and lemongrass juice.

Happy Father’s Day to Jack!  It’s great to celebrate US, Thailand and Taiwan’s Father’s Days! We are lucky and grateful everyday!

Happy Father’s Day to all the Father’s out there!  Cheers from Chiang Mai!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day in Thailand: Sun Pyote for Breakfast

  1. Hi, I enjoyed reading your post. I hope your still writing. Your version of Sun Pyoute sounds delicious and I love all of the color in your dish. I wouldn’t be worried about not having measurements that just leaves room for us to fine tune the recipe to our own taste. Thank you for your upbeat blog and recipe hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

