Humanitarian Day is Every Day!


 

 

We strive to live our lives as though Every Day is  Humanitarian Day for the rest of our lives.   

 

I write this particular blog post as a reminder for our daughter that being born in America to a Burmese American Mother and a Taiwanese Canadian American Father, you are one of the lucky ones, M.  And as such fortunately privileged Americans like you, me and daddy, I believe that we have responsibilities to help improve the lives of  other human beings in need.

Because we,  like so many fortunate others in the world, we’ve won her kiss and gained her love for eternal bliss….. we have FREEDOM.

Though World Humanitarian Day was on 19th August,  we watched these videos today together as a family.

I will admit that I cried when I viewed these videos.

As I was drying and combing your hair, and as you were reading a book like you normally do every night before you go to bed,  I said to you, “there’s  a music video I wanted us to watch together as a family.”  As we watched the video together,  I said to you  “if ever you had a message to the world, this is the kind of message to make a positive impact on humanity.  If ever you want to replicate a song, a message, this could be one.  A message about making a mark on earth for others in need, not only yourself but encouraging others, the world, to doing the same.  There is HONOR in living such a life.  That the way we choose to live our lives, when all is said and done, when we are gone six-feet under,  is the message and the lesson we teach.

I wrote a blog post not too long ago about finding balance and living few regrets and other posts like “how we got itchy feet to travel” “our family mission” all strung together sending a strong message about how we live our lives,  how we choose to raise you as our child.  And the lyrics in this song vibrated through my skin, my heart, my soul as though she picked up on our message somewhere along the way.  And to Beyoncé, I thank your for sharing this beautiful message with the world.  It’s my message too.

The year 2012’s message of World Humanitarian DayDo something good somewhere for someone else.  Make your mark while you are here on this earth by doing something by adding value to someone else’s life. Personally, I gain too by adding and bettering someone else’s life. It’s a win-win, hopefully!

Doing something can be as simple as these suggestions.  And many acts of kindness can be done without costing us a dime.   These actions require our effort, our time, energy and willingness.

  • HELP SOMEONE WITH THEIR SHOPPING
  • MAKE A HOMELESS PERSON A SANDWICH
  • DONATE YOUR SKILLS TO A COMMUNITY PROJECT
  • STAND UP FOR SOMEONE BEING PICKED ON
  • VISIT AN ELDERLY PERSON
  • COOK A MEAL FOR A NEW MUM
  • COMFORT SOMEONE IN HOSPITAL
  • VOLUNTEER AT A LOCAL CHARITY
  • GIVE AWAY SOMETHING YOU DON’T USE
  • MOW YOUR NEIGHBOUR’S LAWN
  • TUTOR A DISADVANTAGED YOUNG PERSON
  • CLEAN UP YOUR LOCAL PARK
  • READ A BOOK TO A CHILD OR AN ELDER

What would you add to this list?     What would you do?

My Dear M: 

We are here,  in Thailand.  We notice. We take actions. We are doing something everyday for someone else to improve a life, add value to a life.  We helped the Burmese refugees when we were in Houston, Texas and we will continue to commit our time and effort as long as I am alive. Someday when I am gone, I hope you will carry on the flame of my compassion and continue to add value to many more lives.  The world is not short of opportunities to help another human being in need.  Do not choose to look the other way.  Take Notice. Take Action.  And remember, be grateful! ~ Mommy

 

 

I wanna leave my footprints on the sands of time
Know there was something that
Meant something that I left behind
When I leave this world,
I’ll leave no regrets
Leave something to remember,
So they won’t forget

I was here…
I lived, I loved
I was here…
I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark so everyone will know
I was here…

I want to say I lived each day,
Until I die
And know that I meant something in somebody’s life
The hearts I have touched,
Will be the proof that I leave
That I made a difference
And this world will see

I just want them to know
That I gave my all,
Did my best
Brought someone some happiness
Left this world a little better just because…
I was here…

 

 

We Say Yes to Attitude of Gratitude. 

We Say NO to Status Quo.

Live Green. Live Small. 

Give Large. Take Little.

Take Notice.  Take Action.

 

4 thoughts on “Humanitarian Day is Every Day!

    1. Actually, Since I introduced her the song, M has been asking me to play “I WAS HERE!” every night. It is now part of our nightly routine. She’s been practicing and singing it for “the talent at twilight” show at her school and she wants to do a solo. Sigh…

  1. OH I so love the second video ~ its perfect. I have never heard the words/song before but I reckon that its perfect for humanitarin day. It sent chills down my spin.

Leave a Reply

