Tomato Rice or Potato, Pumpkin, Tomato Rice


I made this last night  because M loves this dish and it is super easy to make. If you’re a vegetarian you’ll love this dish as well.

Here’s how I made it for 3 people. Again, I don’t use exact measurements so what I am giving you is a guesstimate.  This recipe like many of my recipes are– tweakable to your liking  or preference. You can add more tomatoes, more garlic, onions etc. to your liking.

6 medium tomatoes, chopped

2 pearl onions or one medium onion, chopped

3 large cloves of garlic

2 cups of cooked rice

chopped cilantro (a few strands)

fish sauce or salt

sprinkles of turmeric and paprika

fish or dried shrimp (optional)

a bit of oil (I used veggie oil)

On medium heat, in a pan, after drizzling a bit of oil, add the onions and garlic to brown slightly. Sprinkle the turmeric and paprika and stir for a couple of minutes. Add the tomatoes to the mix.  Stir often so the mix does not burn.  Once the tomatoes are wilted and softened, add some water (about 1/3 c). Let the mixture cook well like a spaghetti sauce with some tiny chunks. Add some fish sauce or salt whichever you prefer.  Cook it long enough so that there’s very little water left.  I had to cook a bit a longer after I took this picture below.

Now add the fresh cooked rice gently into the tomato sauce.  Normally, the mixture will be mixed into the rice and we use our hands to do the mixing.  I didn’t do that.  I just mixed the rice and the tomato sauce together in the pot on the stove.

NOTE: in Burma, sometimes soft boiled potatoes are added to for the starchy consistency and flavor.  If you wish to do this, please feel free.  It does take a bit longer as the potatoes need to be boiled separately.  Again, in Burma, we also add flavored, seasoned boiled fish to this mix.  This is super yummy as well with fresh fish. I’ve also seen it served with peanuts.

I had no fresh fish yesterday, so instead I added some fried fish flakes I brought back from Burma.  I added the fish to the tomato mix and topped before serving. If you have dried shrimp, it would work also. I also topped it with fried onions and garlic before serving.  If you have cilantro chopped in small pieces, it will add a nice flavor to the dish as well.

Personally, I would take it a step further and make a salad out of this.  I would add sliced onions, cucumbers, tamarind sauce or lime, sometimes both, chili peppers, fresh garlic, thinly sliced lime leaves, and fried onions.  I’m drooling already writing about this.  I’m making more this weekend!  Yum.

Update:  May 2012

This time I added one medium potato and some pumpkin with brown rice.

Cube the potato and pumpkin and drop them into the boiling water.  Let it cook until it is soft.  Add them to the tomato mixture and mix everything into a thick paste.

Add the cooked brown rice to the thick paste.  I just guesstimated how much rice to add.  I made enough for the three of us plus school lunch for my daughter.

I also added grounded fried fish and fried onions to the mix.  Then I sprinkled some on top of the rice also.

Really enjoyed it.  It was tasty!

 

Hope you’ll have a chance to try this very easy recipe at home. Let me know if you have any problems making it or if you have any questions.  Tell me how it turned out.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

