The Silver Lining


It’s been hectic, I won’t deny it.  Moving into a “new” place needing various minor and major projects and coordinating them, living out of suitcases while all of our belongings spread about with no sense of order in the home can all be at times stressful. Dealing with reliable and unreliable workers, the realtor, home owner, shop owners as well as some language barriers can all be overwhelming as well. We’ve had very little time for anything else.   So much is going on that J struggles with his projects while I do with mine having no desk or chair or time to work within our new dig.   Because by the time we think we are ready for our projects, we’re exhausted from dealing with so many other matters. I’ve had many migraines and sleepless nights while laying in bed physically and mentally exhausted (the horrible cement of a bed doesn’t help much either).  Last few months have been tough for all of us. Oh, we’ve also discovered mosquitoes of unusual sizes and bugs of all kinds around here. But that’s a small matter I guess considering all  the other issues. I suppose we need more geckos.  And yes, we’re adjusting from having a one-bedroom tiny apartment to now having three floors.

Oh and top of all this, our visas expire in less than a week.

The Silver Lining:

M has plenty of Thai neighbor kids to play with. One of them is a kid in her class.  She is enjoying more playdates now than ever before in Thailand.  She may even have a sleepover soo, now that there is an extra bed in M’s room.

I know that slowly, our home will come together the way we envisioned it to be and slowly able to serve as a place for English tutoring center.

In less than a month, my parents will be here and we have space to accommodate them. And for the first time, my parents will reunite with us and stay with us in Asia, in Thailand and a possible jaunt to Burma, together. That’s a big deal for me and my family because it will be M’s first time to Burma.

It’s comforting to know my youngest brother will be with my parents in Burma for the first time in 30+ years. I’m proud of my little brother for making that giant leap.  And soon, he may even visit us here in Thailand.

My other brother has been here with us for almost 2 weeks now.  We’ve been busy with many visits to restaurants enjoying delicious northern Thai food and all the places to see and experience in Chiang Mai and Northern Thailand.  Even though, on some days, we’re just enjoying good food and company (not necessarily visiting a significant attraction in Thailand), it’s still time well spent.  Now, I just hope he comes back to visit us again soon and he’s not even left us yet.

Today is the famous Lanna Lantern Ceremony or festival or Yee Peng in Chiang Mai and I feel especially grateful that I will get to experience this festival for the second time in my life with my little family!  My brother will be here to enjoy this wonderful, once in a lifetime spiritual experience with us.

I’m thankful that I woke up this morning with my heart still beating inside my chest. I’m thankful that I have a roof over my head while many in the South are struggling to hold   on to theirs.  I’m thankful we have access to food and water as many parts of the world do not have the luxury.  I’m thankful for the friends who chose to keep our company. I’m thankful that though a small family we are, that we have each other, can rely on one another, and that we are together physically.  I’m thankful I have my vision and a sense of wonder to be able to appreciate the sights, the smells, the sounds and the surroundings of the Lantern ceremony for yet another time.  I’m thankful that we will have another year of living and serving here in Chiang Mai.

To everyone, our friends we will see, friends we won’t see, travelers, expats and local friends visiting the ceremony tonight- I wish you a safe journey to the meditation center.  Most importantly, I wish for you a day and night filled with joy and peacefulness that I felt at the last year’s ceremony and that I know and look forward to feeling again surrounded by my little family.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Silver Lining

  1. I hope all goes well, I can relate to the physical and mentally tired bit as my wife and I finish up grad school (me with my thesis), work and plan out our whole moving to South American and backpacking thing. Hang in there and hopefully all goes well.

    1. Hey monkey,
      Thanks for commenting. Good luck with your thesis and grad school, we’ve been there, and it’s a marathon. We’re doing well, and you’ll hear (literally, as I’m doing podcasts) more about what we’re up to these days.

      Cheers, J.

  2. Hi Avril,

    Moving is always a hetic time 🙂 So glad to hear that you have more space, more kids for your children to play with, and family visiting!

    Cheers
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

