Arnold- the Fly of Unusual Size, Pays a Visit


Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

So, this fly, I’ll call him Arnold, decided to pay us a visit in our apartment here in Chiang Mai the other day, and at first I mistook it as a beetle.  I had to do a double take to be sure Arnold really was a fly.  I could not believe he sat still  long enough for me to grab my Nokia N8, turn on the camera, set it on macro,  aim, focus and take the shot.  I didn’t realize how much detail there was until I cropped it, next to my Macbook pro for reference.  Arnold’s got some cool orange shades.  Must’ve been a University of Texas Longhorns fan…

So, did I swat and kill it?  Or snap it out of the sky with chopsticks, a la Karate Kid?  Heck no, a fly that big, named Arnold, must have friends, so I just let him go wherever he wanted.  I suspect it may have eaten our resident gecko, and on his way to kill some livestock.

Smooth sailing, Arnold.

4 thoughts on “Arnold- the Fly of Unusual Size, Pays a Visit

Leave a Reply

