M Begs for Sushi (Entitled by M)


It’s been a week since M (my daughter) and I returned to Chiang Mai, Thailand.  I’ve been saying I wanted to go back to the tiny Sushi restaurant minutes away from our place.  Yesterday was the day.  After taking M to play at one of her favorite places in Chiang Mai, we walked back towards our apartment.  Conveniently, the restaurant was waiting for us on our way home.

M and I sat towards the back to get away from the smokers relentlessly polluting, not only their own lungs, but everyone else’s around them. (No, I’m not a big fan!)

The young lady who took our order was super nice and patient with us.  She was so apologetic because she started speaking Thai really fast to us (uh, well, not that I would understand it if she spoke any slower)!

Together, M and I deliberated on what to order.  Like mother like daughter as the saying goes, M loves food as much as I do. There are a few exception, like spices, tofu and mushrooms, but she mostly eat everything we eat. Still a work in progress at 8 years-of-age.

Here’s what we ordered:

Teriyaki Salmon – the two large pieces of grilled salmon was cooked just right, swimming in sweet soy sauce accompanied by cabbage salad with a yummy creamy salad dressing.  You won’t believe it.  I couldn’t believe my eyes either.  We’ve been to this Japanese restaurant before.  Every time we are there, we’re amazed of the prices (unlike Korean food that is!)  Which is why I ate so much of it before coming back to Chiang Mai.  That’s another story for another time.  Thankful we have a Korean neighbor, M’s BFF.  Weee Lucky Us!  Hee Hee!  🙂  Oh yea, back to the price. It was only, are you ready? 99b.  That’s only $3.30.  For a dish like that we’d pay at least $10 easy in Texas.

And NO.  I did not take any pictures.  I was too busy eating and I didn’t have a camera with me.  GASP!

Spider Roll – which is an invention of the west (not found in Japan) made with fried softshell crab, cucumber and seaweed in triangle-shaped rolls.  They were crisp on the outside of the roll as well.  This is one of our all time favorite. 79b or $2.63.

We like eel (Unagi) but they were completely out.  Gasp again!  Whaaaaaa?  It’s only a walking distance away.  I’m pretty sure we’re going back as soon as J gets back to Chiang Mai!

Pizza Sushi – this is fascinating.  We’ve had this before about three months ago before we left for the US because we knew how expensive Japanese food will be in the US. And this is actually very different.  J didn’t care for it too much I don’t think, but we liked it and ordered it again last night. Also 79b or $2.63.

And this, I have a picture of because we had leftovers. It was delicious we couldn’t leave it there. The young lady packed up the pizza sushi, even included soy sauce and wasabi for us. We brought it home and had it for lunch today.

Basically the pizza is built on a sheet of seaweed (Nori) layered with Sushi rice, topped with a mix of fish eggs, crab and tiny pieces of cumber and carrots (maybe Japanese mayo?). This was actually quite delicious.

We placed the grilled salmon on top of the pizza sushi and that was a great combo.  M ate so much when she got home she said “Mommy, that sushi was sooo good and I’m sooo full!”  🙂  That’s my girl.

Our bill?

$8.56.

I won’t complain.  Besides, I write this post with feeling a cool breeze brushed over my face from the balcony at 1pm in the afternoon.   It’s rainy season here.  NOT everyday in rainy season feels this way.  It does today, and I’m enjoying it.

Until the next foodie report, cheers from Chiang Mai, Thailand.

 

3 thoughts on “M Begs for Sushi (Entitled by M)

    1. I’m sorry it has taken so long to respond. If you are familiar with CM and sounds like you are, it is on Huay Kaew across from the Shell station close to Kad Suan Kaew. For some reason, when we want Japanese food, we always end up THERE. It’s a tiny little place but the staff is friendly and the food is good. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

