Why Yes, I Cooked My First Meal in Chiang Mai at 5 in the Morning


Well, Okay,  Fine, I”ll admit  we’re a little jet-lagged.  It’s usually worse going the other way though.

Technically, this is not my first time cooking in Chiang Mai in our tiny kitchen.  It’s the first time cooking after returning to Chiang Mai this summer. 🙂

So both M and I were worn-out by 6:30pm yesterday. By 7pm we were in bed. Uhh that means I was up at 2:30am and later M was up by 3:30. Oh well.  That’s the way it goes.

Since we were up and we were both hungry, I decided to make a noodle dish. M wanted oatmeal, but sorry M, I didn’t have any.   Remember the items I picked up yesterday at the market?

Like these thick rice noodles?


Easy answer!  I made stir fried noodles for breakfast. Luckily, I have access to fresh rice noodles like these on a daily basis.  If you don’t have access to fresh noodles like the ones in the picture, I recommend dry noodles you can get in a package.  You’ll have to boil those noodles to get them ready for this dish.

What we need:

  • Oil (corn, peanut, olive, grape seeds will do about 2-3 tablespoons) I’m actually guessing this because, as you know I don’t measure when I cook.  I eyeball everything.
  • Quality soy sauce (approx 3 – 4 tablespoons)
  • Fish sauce if you have any otherwise, salt
  • Soy products (firm tofu if you have it) (I sued dried tofu that I soak in water for a few minutes before cooking) How much you want in the dish is up to you!
  • Diced or smashed garlic (a few cloves)
  • One medium onion (sliced thin)
  • 1/2 kilo noodles
  • 3 eggs
  • Veggies of your choice (I usually use Chinese broccoli and/or Bean sprouts)

How I made the dish:

  1. On low heat pour oil in the wok and let it sit for a few minutes.  Throw in the garlic and onions and let it cook in the oil for a few minutes. You’ll see the edges starting to brown and that’s when you can add the tofu.
  2. Be gentle with the tofu pieces.  Even though it is firm, if you stir too much you’ll break them. Cook them for a few minutes.  Turn them over until golden brown on each side.  Take them out and place them in a plate or bowl.
  3. Now add the green veggies. If you’re using bean sprouts, add those at the very end.  Put a cover on the wok for a few minutes to cook the veggies quickly with the steam. Now remove the veggies and place them aside with the tofu.
  4. Add a splash of oil to the wok and let it cook for only a few seconds as the wok is already hot.  Throw in the noodles and stir gently and quickly to coat with the oil.   Right away, add the soy sauce and fish sauce to coat the noodles some more.  Let it cook for a few more minutes while stirring and mixing gently.
  5. Once the noodles look well coated and cooked, add the tofu and the green veggies back in and mix again gently.
  6. In a different pan fry the eggs.  You can do sunny side up or scrambled.  Up to you.  We did sunny side up and placed it on top of the noodles.
  7. We also added some flakes of seaweed we just got as a gift from our Korean neighbors.
  8. I usually squeeze some lime on the noodles.  I like adding lime on just about everything.
  9. You can even eat it with this Chili~ Lime~ Garlic sauce.  If you do, you don’t be sure not to make the noodles with too much fish sauce or salt.  This sauce will add plenty of flavor for you.

And there you have a nice stir fry noodles dish in no time.

That’s what I made this morning for breakfast. Here what it looked like.

Noodle dish without the seaweed.

This picture was taken after I sprinkled some seaweed on our noodles.  I made this without any veggies.  Only added tofu and eggs.   I’ve made it with veggies before, and I cannot find those pictures at the moment.  Maybe I’ll add them when I find them.

Thanks to our Korean neighbors they brought us some seaweed (and other goodies) as gifts from Korea.  Ummm apparently, according to Elisabeth, M’s bff, they came home with kilos of Korean food from Korea.  Time to make some good food for the neighbors.  If we’re lucky, she make some delicious Korean dishes for us!  Hee hee!  🙂

Oh and that’s 11b (.33 cents) worth of fresh rice noodles with 3 eggs, some tofu, a few cloves of garlic, an onion, splashes of oil, some soy sauce and veggies, we have a perfectly great veggie meal.

After both of us had a plate each for breakfast, we still have a container full of noodles for another meal.   Probably enough for snack or dinner!

Happy cooking.  Let me know if there are any questions if you’re making this for the first time.  I’ve made this dish a gazillion times and different variation each time. You can do it. too.

Have fun making your meals.  Experiment.  Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

