How to Make Fried Rice with Whatever You Have in Your Pantry or Fridge


I’m sure you’ve seen more than enough fried rice recipes in your lifetime.  So I’m here to add  one or two more to your collection.  It’s my duty.  How can I have an ‘Asian Food with a twist of Burmese food blog’ without fried rice.

Here’s the thing–  Making fried rice is as easy as making fried eggs.  I’ll start with the simplest version.  And by the way, I eat fried rice for breakfast,  with my Chili ~ Lime ~ Garlic sauce of course.

REMEMBER:  I Do NOT use exact measurements in my cooking EVER!  Seriously, I let my taste buds, experience and instincts guide me.

I usually make fried rice because I have left over rice that I don’t want wasted.  And its the fastest meal ever!  So for fried rice, you’ll definitely need — RICE~  🙂  If you have about 2 cups of cooked rice, we’re in business.

I usually, if not always, start my cooked meals with onions, garlic and oil. And for this fried rice, you’ll also need some eggs.  How about two eggs.  Any size will do.

Dice up a small onion and a few cloves of garlic.  Saute that in a frying pan with about 2 -3 TB spoons of oil.  I used olive. I prefer grape seeds oil, but don’t have any this time.  Pick a pan that’s large and deep enough to cook your fried rice.  Use medium heat, but don’t burn the oil.

If you have turmeric powder, a couple of dashes will be great while you saute the onions and garlic.  If not. you can still make delicious fried rice.  No biggie.  Once the onions and garlic slightly browned on the edges, add the two eggs.  Scramble it good and cook it well.  You can either take the eggs out put it to the side (then add them back after the rice is added, towards the end) or add the veggies.  Let it cook a few minutes.

Now you can add the rice in the frying pan.  NOTE:  If the left over rice is a bit hard due to being in the fridge over night, no worries, put it in the microwave (covered) for about  a minute or two to soften it.

Add salt (fish sauce) if you have it.  A couple of dashes- taste to your liking.  You could also add a couple of dashes of soy sauce for browning the rice a little.  If you don’t like your rice brown, no sweat, leave out the soy sauce.

Here’s how you can vary your fried rice and how I make fried rice with whatever I have in my fridge or pantry.  SERIOUSLY!  You can do it too!

Cabbage, Carrots, Green Onions, Celery, Cauliflower, broccoli, Firmed Tofu- diced.

Peas, Corn, Mixed Veggies: Frozen is better.  Avoid using canned veggies.

Canned Tuna, Salmon, Roasted Chicken, Pork, Shrimp, or left over meat.

Any of these combination would work in your fried rice.

You can even make fried rice with onions and garlic sautéed in butter.  This is delicious as well.

In the picture below, I made Canned Salmon and Peas fried rice.

Now it’s your turn to make fried rice.   See if you can make fried rice without having to run to the grocery store with a list of ingredients.  Make fried rice with what you have in your pantry.

Hint: You should always have onions and garlic if you want to cook Burmese food often.

 

7 thoughts on “How to Make Fried Rice with Whatever You Have in Your Pantry or Fridge

  1. I love this post, A! One question: if you’re using veggies (carrots, etc), when do you add them? (at the end, even if they are raw?). Let me know! Thanks. Loving the blog.

  2. That looks delicious! I am going to seriously need these instructions this summer when I start missing the Thai fried rice. Now you can save my summer and post how to make pad see ew, then I’ll really be all set! 😉

Leave a Reply

