Chili~Lime~Garlic Sauce


One of the things I love to make is a sauce that could complement any meal.  As a salad lover, adding sauce to spice up my meal is normal for this Burmese American.   There are many different kinds of sauces to be made.  However, after return from Chiang Mai, the first thing I did was this particular sauce.  I bottled it up so that it can complement any meal I’m having during my stay here in Arlington.

This is super easy to make. Once again, in the kitchen I don’t use exact measurements.  Whatever I am creating, I do so by my preferred taste.  This taste of this sauce could be adjusted according to yours.

Here’s how to make the sauce:

  • fish sauce 5 tablespoons
  • water 10 tablespoons
  • dash of sugar
  • 3 key limes
  • 1 tablespoons vinegar
  • a few cloves of garlic, diced
  • sliced chili peppers (red and/or green)

Throw them all in a bowl.  Mix to taste.  If you feel it needs to be more salty, add fish sauce.  If you like it more sour, you could either add lime or vinegar.  Too acidic and fishy for your taste? add more water and maybe one more dash of sugar.

Usually, I can use this kind of sauce when I am eating fried rice, fried noodles, or having a curry meal or with stir fried veggies and tofu. I might even add a bit of it in my salads!

Well there you have it.  My Chili~Lime~Garlic sauce.

Enjoy.  And remember,  don’t be afraid to let your taste buds come alive.  It’s easy to do when you have chili, lime and garlic!

2 thoughts on “Chili~Lime~Garlic Sauce

Leave a Reply

