Back in Texas: I’m Afraid the Shock Will NOT Wear Off!


After living in Chiang Mai, Thailand for nine months, we have arrived back in the States.  It took me two days before venturing out into the streets of Arlington, Texas.  Where did we venture out to?  Asian Super Market, of course, in search of chili.  Yes, Chili!~  (We already had lime and garlic at home thanks to my in-laws!)

I expected the sticker shock.  I did.  I was preparing myself for it mentally.  And shocked, I am! For the record, this is not a complaint! It’s reality- Sticker shock happens! This is my way of dealing with it- is by writing about it.

Naturally, I took pictures of items we would normally purchase back in Chiang Mai. Yes, people did stare.  They probably thought I was a tourist!  In my defense, it was my first time back in an Asian market in the US.   Clearly, I’m entitled to a reaction.   Right?  Right! 🙂

In case you are wondering: 1 kilogram = 2.2 pounds (lb);  1 dollar = 30 baht.

Shocker #1


That’s 180 b for the entire box.  Not bad I guess?

Ummm that’s 300 b for the entire box.  Gulp!

I could find yellow mangos similar to these in Chiang Mai for 40 -60 b  for 1 kilo (2.2 lbs).  Sometimes for the green ones I’ve paid as low as 20 b = 1 kilo.

Shocker #2

Whaaaaaaa?  Seriously?  That’s 90 b each!  I can buy a watermelon about the same size for 30 b/$1 top!  And we just had some delicious sweet watermelon a few days ago in Chiang Mai!

Shocker #3

Wow!  That’s 26 b per pound.    Yes, I can get papayas for 30 b/$1 per kilo (2.2 lb)  and I was complaining it was high.  I won’t anymore when I return to Chiang Mai in the Fall.

Shocker #4

Woa.. holy smokes… really?  That’s 30 b for just a small bunch of basil not even the same kind either.  I can get that much (but a different kind of basil) for maybe as little as 2 b– that’s like 6 cents.   I’m planting my own when we come back to live in the US in our RV.

Shocker #5

First thing I noticed when I touched the tomatoes was that they were waxy, slippery and slimy to the touch.   I also didn’t like that they were of giant-sized and the color was off.   I bought them because I needed tomatoes not because I liked these.  That is probably the reason why I only bought two.  I usually pay (for much better quality tomatoes) 5 b = 16 cents for 1/4 of a lb which is maybe around 65 cents/lb in Chiang Mai  This is of course an estimate.

Shocker #6

These Chinese celery leaves are delicious in Yum Khai Dow (fried egg salad) so I bought some.  Expensive?  Yes, since I’d probably pay about 5 b = 16 cents for a bunch like that.  Of course the quality is different in that the leaves and the stems are much smaller/thinner  in Thailand.  Even the Chinese celery is supersized.  Again I prefer the Thailand version.

Shocker #7

These bananas were probably the biggest shocker!  Maybe!  I can find bananas like these for the entire bunch for as low as 30 b which is estimating on the higher end.  I’ve gotten bananas like these for as low as 15 b per bunch.  And these are being sold by the pound!  Eeeeek!

Good Shocker #8

There were two  things I found that were reasonably priced in comparison to Thailand prices.  Cilantro was one of them since it was much cheaper compared to other items.  This was only ~8b for a large bunch of cilantro.  Awesome!

The other item was egg rolls.  4 for a dollar!  25 cents each!  Bingo!

BTW:  I did find my fresh chili peppers for a dollar and ground dried chili peppers for 70 cents.  It’s not much in quantity and it’s expensive, but gotta have them.


There you have it- story after my first visit to an Asian market here in Arlington, Texas.   This is Texas prices people, which are usually on the lower end compared to the East and West coasts!  Yikes!

And so in my next post,  naturally,  I will reveal what dish I made after my shopping spree at the Asian market.  Care to guess what very first dish was  made here in Texas?  I’ll tell you tomorrow!

9 thoughts on “Back in Texas: I’m Afraid the Shock Will NOT Wear Off!

  1. I hear ya’… I’ve gone through it many times as we’ve come and gone from our homes in various parts of the world.

    What I finally came to realize is that it’s all relative. When we lived in Ethiopia, fruits and veggies were dirt cheap – think less than $10 for a weeks’ worth of fruits and veggies for our family of four. Cheap, cheap, cheap. But – pasta was outrageous. It was imported into the country, therefore expensive. We wanted pasta, so we paid it.

    You can eat fairly cheaply pretty much anywhere in the world if you go local. Mangoes aren’t grown in the USA, but they are grown in Thailand. It makes sense that it would be cheaper there as you’re not paying the transport costs. That’s one of the great things about the tropics – the huge array of fresh fruits and veggies that is available.

    It’ll take some time to get used to the changes, but you will – and so will we. We’ve now been back in the US for nearly three weeks after three years on the road! We’re totally expecting the transition to take some time.

    Good luck! How long are you planning on staying in Texas?
    Nancy
    familyonbikes.org

Leave a Reply

