My Pumpkin Coconut Soup from Chiang Mai, Thailand


I love creating my own delicious simple dishes. So here is another one I made about a month ago.

Pumpkin is available year-round here in Thailand, and for cheap.  How could I not take advantage of that!?

 

Actually you’ll find that pumpkin soup is quite easy to make.  I’m not good with measurements.   I cook with my eyes, nose and taste buds.  Really I don’t measure anything!  Sorry!

Here’s what I’ve got.  Let me know how it turns out for you!

Quarter of a pumpkin

Coconut milk (approx. 1 –  1  1/2 C)

Salt (or Fish sauce)

Garlic powder (or fresh sliced garlic if you like)

Cherry tomatoes

Get your quarter of a pumpkin like the one you see here in the picture.  Don’t forget to scoop/scrape out the gooey parts where the seeds are.  Peel away the top hard layer of the pumpkin (I use a knife and a peeler).  Cut them into cubes.  Pumpkin cooks fast so you can cut them into small cubes if you’re in a hurry to make the soup.

Once cubed, cook them in water until they are softened.  Once tender and soft enough, place them in the blender and puree the pumpkin.  Take it back out and cook the soup in a sauce pan.  Add coconut milk once soup starts to boil.  Add salt and garlic powder to taste.  Let the mixture come to a boil.

Garnish it  sliced cherry tomatoes to make your dish beautiful with colors,  but also the sweet and sour from the tomatoes make the soup that much tastier!

This soup is divine with plain rice crackers.  If you don’t have rice crackers try it with garlic bread.

Enjoy!

 

4 thoughts on “My Pumpkin Coconut Soup from Chiang Mai, Thailand

  1. Oh, I love the year round pumpkins here in Indo. I’ve been making a lot of soup too haven’t done it with coconut milk though. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

