Homemade Yogurt from My Semi-Kitchen in Chiang Mai, Thailand


One of the things I love about living in Thailand is having access to so many seasonal fruits.  Right now we can still enjoy mangos and passion fruit.  Yee haa!  While the mangos are quite pricey, they are the big juicy yellow ones that sweetly melt in your mouth.   With these tasty mangos I love to make  a mean Mango Lassi.  What’s even better than that?  A Mango Passion Fruit Lassi!

Here’s how you make yogurt at home so you can have your own Mango Lassi as well  Might be a bit difficult for you to find passion fruit.  Maybe Passion Fruit syrup??   🙂

Get some milk.  No matter what brand, as long as it is cow milk.  Pour 1/2 gallon or more (or less which ever you prefer) into a sauce pan and boil on medium heat.  You’ll only need to cook it a few minutes to boil.   Let the milk cool.

Once the cooked milk is at room temperature, add the individual size tub of plain yogurt into your milk.  I usually add half the tub so I can finish the rest of the tub 🙂  You can add a few spoon-full or half a tub or the whole tub.  It should work.  The more you have the quicker and thicker your yogurt will turn out for you.   Stir it a bit and let it sit in room temperature for at least eight (8) hours.

I love it.  Ta da!  8 -12 hours later,  you have YOGURT!

Add fresh fruits to your yogurt for more lively flavors!

I’m going to make some Mango and Passion Fruit Lassi and will share my recipe in one of my upcoming foodie posts!

Come back and tell me how your yogurt turned out!  YUM!

 

7 thoughts on “Homemade Yogurt from My Semi-Kitchen in Chiang Mai, Thailand

Leave a Reply

