Cracked a Coconut Lately?


I felt a bit defeated when I couldn’t crack open a fresh coconut, when the folks in the street markets seemed to do it so effortlessly.  Even getting a bigger cleaver didn’t seem to help.  Today, I finally learned that it’s not about brute force, but the angle of the cut.  Believe it or not, there is a soft spot on top of the coconut, and you need to strike it vertically with the knife, in line with the grain of the coconut.  I’ve been hacking it across the grain (like a beheading… bad example), and felt like a kid trying to open a tamper proof medicine bottle (whining included).

Well, I finally did it!  I cracked open the top, drained the juice, then opened it some more to get the meat out.  At least we know there’s not High Fructose Corn Syrup in this drink! (But who knows really…).  Cheers!

Look for this photo on the next "Most Wanted" poster in the Chiang Mai post office.

8 thoughts on “Cracked a Coconut Lately?

    1. Thanks! I’m going to have to list it near the top of my life’s accomplishments… 1) Meeting A., 2) Witnessing M’s birth, 3) cracking a coconut, and 4) finishing my dissertation. =)

Leave a Reply

