I Am Grateful Today. I Will Be Grateful Tomorrow.


Although service is an everyday theme in our lives, in our post on weekly  themes we dedicated Saturday for Service.  And it’s Saturday!

It’s in our blood.  We cannot fight it.  We get overly excited about helping others not just financially, but with our sweat and tears.   It’s harder for me to gauge via online connections when it comes to volunteer organizations.  I have to see it with my own eyes  and be there in person.

I am in awe of what Dwight has accomplished via In Search of Sanuk in Bangkok since we’ve connected with him in 2009 during our visit to Thailand.

I do not have enough adjectives to describe my feelings for the possibilities that lie before us in working with some of the orgs here in Chiang Mai.


We visited the Free Bird Cafe last week to “check them out.”  It was a fairly easy drive for J, he got us there on our new ride.  We looked at the menu and I was excited about the possibilities of ordering some Burmese/Shan dishes.  I was like a kid in a candy store.  I kid you NOT.  Having Shan style Papaya Salad and Passion fruit smoothie that day sent me to Food Heaven.

We made an appointment to meet with Lisa the same week and there we sat for over 4-hours chatting with her about the possibilities.  It’s one of those things – I  feel it in my gut and my core that I’m on the right path.

Tears of joy.

Tears of disbelief.

Tears.

The Tears I could not hold back, for I feel I am at home.

Exactly where I need to be.

I am grateful today and I will be grateful tomorrow.

For there are endless possibilities to Give Large.

And you can too.

Cheers from Chiang Mai, Thailand.

Message to M:  Do good every chance you can.   Be grateful.  Be kind.  Live within your means.   Live your life with Passion and Purpose, Always.

~

We Say No to the Status Quo

Live Small.  Live Green.  Give Large.  Take Little.

Take Notice.  Take Action.

3 thoughts on “I Am Grateful Today. I Will Be Grateful Tomorrow.

  1. I’ve heard great things about both the cafe and the work Lisa is doing. I’m looking forward to visiting the cafe when I in CM in January, and hopefully doing some volunteer work.

    Sounds like you are really settling in to CM 🙂

  2. Love it, love it, love it! You 3 were the perfect people for us to meet as we’re getting here. I’ve been wanting for so long to settle in somewhere that we’ve really wanted to be and get immersed in the things we love, one of them being volunteering! I used to coordinate volunteer programs for a food bank and general human services around Chicago, and I miss it like crazy! I want to go with you to Free Bird soon and check it out. I’m super eager to find some great vol opps around here, that as you mention are legit. I’m very picky about my non-profits!

Leave a Reply

