Blueberry Flax Smoothie/Popsicles


One of the things we enjoy as a family is having homemade juice from fresh or frozen fruits. We have homemade juice in the house just about everyday. People who know us already know that we are a big fan of the Vita Mix.  We even take it with us on our road trips.  We love our vita mix so much, we are taking it with us to Thailand.

Have I mentioned I make up my own recipes for just about everything I cook?  Well, I know, I cannot do that with baking but I still like playing around and tweaking whatever I am cooking.

One of the items we use in most, if not all, of our juices and smoothies is Organic Wild Blueberries.  We get a bag of these from Costco and we go nuts making juice just about everyday. (Of course, this will be a bit tricky once we move to Thailand!)

Again, I don’t have an exact  recipe for this, but here’s what I use to make this delicious Blueberry flax smoothie and popsicles.

Approximated:  🙂 

1 c of Frozen Blueberries

1 c of milk or soy milk

1 scoop of flax

1/2 c ice

a couple of dashes of Organic Agave/or brown sugar (to taste)

Add a bit of water if needed.




Combine everything (except flax) in the amazing 2 horsepower blender (or a blender of your choice!).   Add the flax towards the very end.

Whenever I am making these I just take a spoonful to test it to see if I like the taste.  If it needs a bit more sweetness,   I give it another squeeze of agave.  Or I may make it without the agave and add brown sugar to it.  You can really make it whatever you want.  NO way you could go wrong here!

You can either pour this into a glass and enjoy it as a smoothie or do what we do sometimes.  Pour them into small cups, dip a popsicle stick in them and place them in the freezer.  Recently we’ve been using cups because we don’t have any of the  molds left in the kitchen.  All  have either been stored, donated or sold at the yard sale!   So the best thing is to use the popsicle molds which also comes with a cover and the stick.

M loves these.  I usually make a few of them at a time so that we can give them to her as snacks.



Enjoy this healthy homemade smoothie.  Saves you money and you know exactly what  ingredients are in your smoothie/popsicle.

As a Mom, this is very important to me and I would imagine this may be the case for a lot of Moms out there!  If not, I’d encourage you to consider it!


Enjoy!


16 thoughts on “Blueberry Flax Smoothie/Popsicles

  1. How spectacular! I juice nearly every day and have a smoothie every couple of days so I’ll add this to my roster. I bet some peanut butter in this one would be great, too.

  2. Yum! I never would have thought about making popsicles with a smoothie – what a great suggestion! I have almost exactly the same smoothie as your recipe here every morning, but I add a couple cups of spinach. 🙂

    1. Popsicles are great for hot days in the summer although my daughter would have them year round. I’ve done the spinach too.. just depends on what I have in my fridge, really!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

  3. This look delicious! Fresh blueberries in Taiwan are ridiculously expensive, but I managed to find some frozen blueberries at Costco. I’m going to give this recipe a whirl this afternoon. Thanks for the terrific recipe!

    1. Whaaaat? There’s Costcos in Taiwan? That’s fantastic. We’ll probably hop over there soon once we settle in Chiang Mai. I have to remember that.

      Give it a try and let me know what ya think. I love the simplicity of it.

Leave a Reply

