Post Vacation Blues!


I had mentioned in my previous post about how I ache to travel more after I come home from a trip. I guess our big Summer 2009 adventure is no exception. We were gone for 85 days. For the past 85 days of our lives, our family of three went everywhere together, ate breakfast, lunch and dinner together. We were together 24 hours-a-day. We lived out of our Honda Fit while in the US camping cross-country and out of our two-suitcases in Asia.

Blogging from Home isn't quite the same!
Blogging from Home isn't quite the same!

The Monday after we got back, my husband @jackventures, returned to work. This means we resumed our pre-vacation routines. I had my daughter at home until she goes back to school.   Extra clutter all around due to our recent return- two suitcases, laundry bags, food bag, toy bag,  a large pile of mail, backpacks, cooler and just misc stuff spread about all over our house. I looked around the house and our suspicion was confirmed that we have way too much STUFF around us. Stuff that ties us down. What I realize is that we have a large house, not to be so boastful, but we do.  Too much sq. footage screaming for some simplicity!

I feel heavy-hearted about how to tackle what seems to be a giant mess before me in our large living room. Why didn’t it feel that way in the Honda Fit or our 14×9 room in Chiang Mai for over 30 days not to mention all the various hotel rooms we stayed in.  Some people say “don’t you need to recover from your vacation? ”     Frankly, I miss camping with my little family, eating at street vendors in Thailand, visiting with Burmese locals in Chiang Mai, searching for waterfalls, hiking along trails in national parks, watching my daughter participate in Jr. Ranger programs, meeting new people, learning about a new location, or just simply being with and enjoying the magnificent beauty of the mother earth as a family.  I miss the sounds, sights, smells & the challenges about a great vacation!  I miss it all and I am longing for more like a sunflower longing  for the bright beautiful sun!

IMG_7116
Sunflower farm on highway 287 near Campo, Colorado
10 thoughts on “Post Vacation Blues!

  1. I definitely understand how you feel. I think it also has to do with the fact that I HATE unpacking after any trip. I still have a partially packed suitcase at the foot of my bed right now. It just screams clean up and laundry!

    Thankfully these days I get to live and travel vicariously through others online – like I enjoyed hearing about your trip!

    1. Hi Angela: I wrote this post almost two weeks ago and frankly, I’m still not unpacked. I guess there’s a part of me that doesn’t want to admit that our great wonderful awesome trip is over and unpacking means truly admitting it!?? Glad to hear that you are vicariously traveling on=line with us. And in this case, I shall get started on another post. Thanks so much for visiting our blog and for your comments. Great to see you here!!

  2. Hello Mary,

    Good for you that you are going away again in a week. I’m jealous. Our next one will be in October to Key West so I’m looking forward to it.

    thanks for visiting our blog and for your comments. Hope to see you here again! 🙂

  3. I think it’s specifically the being together 24/7 part that really builds the family bonds. I won’t be able to prove this theory until the kids are grown up, of course. But I feel confident enough to place my bets on it now. 😉

  4. I can’t agree more. Travel brings you back to the heart of who you are and the simplistic pleasures of eating with loved ones, sights, smells, and feelings.
    Coming back to the hectic lifestyle that we have become accustomed to here in the US is a stock.
    Just be very grateful for the 85 days, not many have that opportunity. I would love to do something similar. My trips are a bit shorter.
    @MsTravelingPant

Leave a Reply

